Chilly Mornings

Usually breakfasts are fairly boring and monotonous at our house. Today I switched it up a bit.

Nearly every morning I have a blender breakfast. Smoothies are Jeremiah and my weekday breakfasts because I can make them the night before and they are a great way to start the day out with a good dose of fruits and vegetables. But there are so many things you can use a blender for so I went through the cookbook that came with my blender and picked a couple things out for breakfast this morning (that wasn’t a smoothie). I made some juice by blending two parts grapes to one part strawberries. I also made a five-grain hot cereal and cooked some of that this morning. So good and just what we needed on a chilly morning.

5-Grain Cereal
-1 cup oat groats
-1/2 cup millet
-1/2 cup whole flaxseed
-1/2 cup brown rice
-1/2 cup cornmeal

Add ingredients in order listed and blend for 10-12 seconds on speed 4 (if you have a Blendtec).

To prepare add one cup water for every 1/3 cup serving. Bring to a boil and then reduce to a summer until the cereal is thickened. Sweeten with honey and add milk if you want.

I like that this cereal is more nutrient rich than plain old oatmeal and it’s gluten-free!

20131119-144017.jpg

Leave a Reply

