Easy Trail Mix and my new favorite appliance

I feel like in some ways I am getting dangerously close to being a full-out hippy. The only thing keeping us on the grid is our minivan and the fact that we vaccinate our child (alternative schedule, in case you were wondering).

But all joking aside I really love making things myself instead of buying them. Sometimes it saves money or time and sometimes it’s just plain fun. Always, it’s a healthy option. To fulfill all of my reasonings behind homemade, from-scratch cuisine I decided to buy a food dehydrator. I think it will be especially useful with preserving herbs from the garden.

Since getting the dehydrator (for $25 on Craigslist I might add) I’ve used it several times and I love it! I’ve dried apples, bananas, pineapple and even made beef jerky. The dried fruit had gone into a yummy trail mix most recently. We’ll be taking it on an upcoming road trip. It includes walnuts, almonds, raisins, chocolate chips, bananas, apples and pineapple. So yummy! The dried pineapple is especially good, tastes like candy.

Really, you can put any combination of fruit and nuts together and you’ll have a tasty trail mix.

20130404-203929.jpg

And here is a link to an amazing jerky recipe. Can’t go wrong when You’re following Alton Brown’s instructions!

Leave a Reply

