Paleo Granola


I was having a hard time letting go of my granola when we decided to transition to a paleo diet. I did soaked granola for quite awhile and really liked it but knew that it wasn’t going to be a forever thing if I could find a suitable substitute. My mom turned me on to this recipe and Jere, Dieter and I gobbled up the (doubled) batch in a matter of three days. I was so happy to find something we all liked that didn’t have any grains in it but there was no way I could afford to continue making it the way it was written if it was going to be a regular breakfast food. So after tweaking it a little a think I came up with the perfect granola recipe for our family (that won’t cost a fortune to make).

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups almonds, roughly chopped
  • 1 1/2 cups walnuts, roughly chopped
  • 30 dried dates, chopped (I have no idea what measurement that would be, sorry you’re going to have to count!)
  • 3/4 cup ground flaxseed
  • 1 1/2 cups pumpkin puree
  • 2/3 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 1 cup unsweetened shredded coconut (I buy mine on Vitacost but does anyone know where I can get it cheaper??)
  • 2/3 cup raw honey
  • 3 tsps. vanilla extract
  • 3 tbsp. cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp. nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp. cloves
  • 1/2 tsp. ground ginger
  • salt, a few pinches? I dunno, I left it out.

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 325 degrees
  • Mix your wet ingredients and spices in a bowl and then add the remaining ingredients. Mix.
  • Pour onto two baking sheets lined with parchment paper or silicone liners (these are amazing, such money savers because parchment paper is pricey)
  • Bake for 40 minutes or until granola begins to darken and dry out. Make sure to mix it up a little halfway through so that it bakes evenly.
  • Eat it!

IMG_0801

My obligatory photo. I was too hungry to actually put thought into it so there you have it…I’m eating granola out of my lap, all manners are out the window when the kid is sleeping.

 

One response to “Paleo Granola

Leave a Reply

