Guacamole Empanadas

One summer in college I worked in the cafe of a natural foods store. This was also the summer that we got engaged so I was a little wedding crazy and thought about weddings almost constantly. One day I was making guacamole and I looked down at the bowl and saw the beautiful color combination in front of me. The avocado green and purple onion were so pretty so I chose that as the color inspiration for my wedding!

20120924-183257.jpg

I thought about that as I was making this yummy dish last night. I found it on the package of guacamole I bought from Aldi a couple weeks ago. It was so tasty but I knew that trying to keep track of a tiny piece of cardboard would be near impossible so here it is!

Guacamole Empanadas
4 packages crescent roll dough
1 package prepared guacamole
1 cup chopped tomato
1/2 cup chopped red onion
Juice of one fresh like
1 pound ground beef or chopped grilled chicken breast seasoned with 1 packet taco seasoning
1 cup shredded Monterey Jack cheese

20120924-220753.jpg

Directions:
1. To prepare dough, preheat oven according to package directions. Place two triangles together and place open faced squares onto ungreased cookie sheets.
2. For filling, combine prepared guacamole, tomato, onions and lime juice.
3. To assemble place all amount of meat into middle of each pastry square, top with cheese and guacamole mixture. Fold pastry over to form a pocket. Press down on seams firmly.
4. Bake for 12-15 minutes or until pastry is golden brown.

One response to “Guacamole Empanadas

Leave a Reply

