A Delicious Pairing

Brownie batter dip and homemade graham crackers. I’m telling you this is the yummiest healthy snack you’ll have. Now the name might be a little deceiving because the dip doesn’t taste exactly like brownie batter but it is chocolatey and has a similar texture. The graham crackers are a common staple in our house and you can find the recipe here on my friend, Jill’s, blog. I don’t change anything when making them. I did alter the dip recipe a little bit, my changes are italicized.

Brownie Batter Dip by cooking ala mel

1 can (15.5 oz.) chickpeas (garbanzo beans), drained
1 1/4 cup Medjool dates, pitted I used California dates and to be honest I don’t know the difference
6-8 T cocoa, to taste
2 T almond butter (or another nut butter) I used peanut butter
2 T coconut oil I wish I had coconut oil but used canola instead 
1 T vanilla
1/4 t salt
2 T dark chocolate chips

I also add about 1.5 tbsp. honey because I don’t think it’s sweet enough as is.  This recipe is so rough on my poor little food processor so I have to do it in batches.  But if you have a decent (and large) food processor you will have nothing to worry about!

In the bowl of a food processor, pulse the dates until chunky. Add in the chickpeas, almond butter, coconut oil, and vanilla. Blend until smooth. Add in the salt and cocoa, and blend until well mixed. Add in the chocolate chips and either stir or pulse a few times to break up into coarse pieces.


I really wanted to add pictures but honestly the dip looked a little bit like poo when I photographed it.  I promise it tastes so yummy though!

One response to “A Delicious Pairing

Leave a Reply

