Tank Tops and Curtains

Without even realizing it I have made/re-made five tank tops in the last month or so.  My goodness what is the deal?  I don’t know but here I am to share another tank top I made with some unusual fabrics….

A duvet cover!  And if you were to tour my home you’d notice that the same fabric has also been made into curtains.  I know I’m goofy but I just love the print so much and I have a ton of fabric!

I also made the same tank top from some fabric I found at Goodwill.  Remember that shopping trip where I scored really big?  Well I also found about 1.5 yards of a nice lightweight cotton print that I made a shirt out of and…oh no, I just realized I also made a curtain out of it for our mudroom.  Apparently curtains and tank tops have a lot in common, like they can often be made from the same fabric.

I didn’t take any pictures of how I made them but here is the post.  One note about making this shirt.  The first time I sewed the sides and left room for the armholes I made them too small.  The armholes should really fall a few inches below your armpit so that the tank isn’t too tight.  You can always tighten it more by tying the bow tighter.

Another note: The tank pictured on the bottom has a thinner sash than I would have liked.  The straps don’t stay on quite as well because it’s so thin and it gets wrinkled really easily and is hard to iron.  I actually use my hair straightening iron to smooth it out and it works great!

I know I have two already but I actually would love a few more!

Oh and one more note.  The jeans I’m wearing in both pictures are my absolute favorite!  I got them from Banana Republic and spent what was for me a ridiculous amount of money on them.  But you know what?  It was so worth it because they fit like a dream and I wear them about 70% of the time.  Invest in good jeans people!  And then save money by making tank tops out of duvet covers 🙂

Leave a Reply

