Leftover Rice Pudding

Right now I’m devouring the most delicious rice pudding.  And in between bites I am going to tell you about it and encourage you to make an extra big batch of rice next time you prepare it just so you have leftovers!  I don’t really know why I thought about making rice pudding after supper tonight but I was looking at all this leftover rice thinking, “hm this would be fantastic as a pudding, like right now!”

A quick google search and I came upon Tyler Florence’s recipe for rice pudding using cooked rice.  Here is his recipe:

Ingredients

  • 3 cups white rice, cooked
  • 3 cups milk
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • Zest of 1 lemon, grated
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon, divided

Directions

Combine cooked rice, milk, sugar and butter in a medium saucepan. Add raisins and vanilla. Cook for 25 minutes until most of the liquid is absorbed. Mix in lemon zest and 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. Spoon pudding into a serving dish and dust with remaining cinnamon. May serve chilled or at room temperature.

What I changed:

  • I cut this recipe by about a third because I just wanted a single serving.
  • I didn’t have raisins so I used cranberries instead and I would definitely do this again!  It pairs so well with the lemon zest.
  • Oh and I used brown rice instead of white rice.  It gives it more texture since brown rice is typically chewier than white rice.  I also used short grain rice which really lends itself to creamier dishes (risotto is made with a short grain rice).
2 responses to “Leftover Rice Pudding

Leave a Reply

