Snack Time!

I have really enjoyed finding new and healthy snack options via Pinterest.  These are a few that have become staples in our pantry and are snacks that I have no problem giving Dieter on a regular basis.

Oatmeal Cookies

I made these just this weekend and they are delicious!  If you’re looking for a sugary sweet cookie this really doesn’t fit the bill but I think you should still check it out.  They are wheat-, egg-, sugar, and dairy-free.  You could eat them for breakfast or as a quick and filling snack and there is a lot of room for the addition of your own ingredients.  I didn’t have coconut so I just added an extra cup of rolled oats.  And as another note I used a 2 1/2 inch biscuit cutter as a form to make the cookies.


Crunchy Chickpeas

So I have a little disclaimer with this recipe.  Make sure they don’t burn!  Both times I’ve made this crunchy snack I’ve burnt about half of them so next time I will decrease the oven temperature to 400 degrees (from 450) and check them every 10-15 minutes.  The first time I seasoned them with curry powder and they were pretty good but the second time I simply ground some sea salt onto them (along with the olive oil) and they were delicious!  Dieter really likes these because they are so crunchy.  I would definitely be careful with young children though since they could present a choking hazard.

“Wheat Thins”

After the first time making these I learned one thing…I need to double the recipe!  They are a bit tedious with all the rolling out and cutting but I really think it’s worth it.  They are much heartier than regular wheat thins plus they end up being a lot cheaper too.  I add 2 tablespoons of whole flax seed to the dry ingredients for even more substance.  These are always in our diaper bag as a handy snack for Dieter.

Apple chips

These apple chips were so simple to make!  The only tricky part is cutting the apples thin enough if you don’t have a mandolin (which I don’t).  All you do is cut the apples into 1/8th inch slices (don’t worry about peeling or coring) and place them on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.  You bake in a 200 degree oven for about three hours.  You can check them periodically and take them out once they are crunchy.  For a twist you can sprinkle them with cinnamon and sugar before baking them.  Easy, cheap, and yummy!

Leave a Reply

