Creamy Tortellini Soup

I had every intention of following this delicious-looking recipe for tortellini soup but somewhere I strayed, quite a bit. I guess it started when I didn’t have time to cook it in the crock-pot (story of my life). Thankfully, even with all the improvising, Jeremiah really liked it and told me I had to make it again. Now this isn’t to say that he usually dislikes my food, just that when he really likes something I need to remember what I did so I can repeat.

Creamy Tortellini Soup

Ingredients
1 tblsp. butter
1 tblsp. flour
1/2 cup onion, chopped
1 cup mushrooms, sliced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. oregano
1/2 tsp. basil
1 cup chicken broth
1 can Evaporated Milk
3 cups water
1 Package Cheese Filled Tortellini
2 cups spinach, chopped
Freshly Grated Parmesan Cheese

Saute onions in butter for a few minutes until they begin to soften, add garlic and saute for 1-2 more minutes. Add flour and cook on medium-high heat for a few minutes and then slowly add evaporated milk. Whisk frequently to incorporate flour mixture into milk. Continue stirring until sauce begins to thicken. Add chicken broth, water, spices, and mushrooms. Bring to a boil and let simmer for 10-15 minutes. Once mushrooms begin to soften stir in tortellini, parmesan and spinach. Cook an additional 5 minutes or until tortellini is heated.

I served the soup with a spinach salad and some simple drop biscuits.

3 responses to “Creamy Tortellini Soup

Leave a Reply

