Christmas

Ahh Christmas.  I love everything about it and for some reason this year is starting out better than ever.  I think it’s because I’ve decided to keep it as simple as possible, starting with the decorations.  I didn’t buy any new decorations for this year and instead am using what I have and making some new things.  We also decided to go simple with gifts which takes so much of the stress and pressure off.  We’re making an effort to enjoy time together as a family and make the most with what we have.

Here is a recipe for some homemade salt-dough ornaments that are hanging on my tree courtesy of I’m Dreaming of a Green Christmas.

  • Combine 2 cups all-purpose flour and 1 cup sugar.
  • Add 1 cup water and mix until no traces of flour remain.
  • Knead well (8-10 minutes).
  • On a floured surface roll dough out to about a 1/4 inch thickness.
  • Use cookie cutters to cut out shapes and place on an ungreased cookie sheet.  Use a toothpick to prick holes in the ornaments to thread with string or yarn after they are done baking.
  • Bake at 250 degrees for 2 hours.
  • Once the ornaments are completely cooled thread the yarn through and tie a knot.
  • I painted some of them with acrylic paints but you could leave them plain.

 

2 responses to “Christmas

  • Jenny

    I just may have to try these. Have you ever made the applesauce cinnamon ornaments? I’ve done them since I was little and Aiden did them last year. When you come over next time we should make some.

    • jsfoertsch

      I have some hanging on the tree and they still smell so good, now that I think about it I think we might have made them at a play date last year. I would love to add some more to the tree though.

Leave a Reply

