Dieter’s New Hats

This lucky guy got two new hats last week!  I guess both his mom and grandma decided that having just one winter hat was not good enough (let alone one that was getting too small) so they each knit him one.

When Grandma was in Berlin recently she noticed a lot of babies wearing this Norwegian-inspired cap so, using some leftover sock yarn she had bought while on vacation, she knit Dieter one.  Now he looks very Gerwegian (gosh, sometimes I am just too clever).

The hat that Mom (me, duh) made was a fluke…like most of my hats are.  I tried using a pattern and it looked like junk and would maybe fit Dieter when he turned 14 so I decided to just make up my own.  It was very boring until it turned into an owl!

You can find hats similar to both of these on Ravelry.

One response to “Dieter’s New Hats

Leave a Reply

