Skull and Crossbones

I’ve been trying to find a good pattern to make a winter hat for Dieter and his friend Anderson.  I don’t know if he has an oddly shaped head or what but every 0-3 or 3-6 month pattern I’ve tried is huge or doesn’t work with the yarn I have on hand so I decided to make up my own pattern.  I had some sweet yarn that I knew would look good as a hat (Jeremiah knit a hat using it awhile ago).  I don’t know if you can still buy the yarn, it’s called Sensations Licorice, and you can only get it at Joann’s.  But really any bulky yarn will work great.  The only thing that is unique about this yarn is that it’s thick an thin so keep that in mind when checking your gauge.

I really wanted to get a good picture of Dieter wearing his hat but he wasn’t being really cooperative so I did what I could.  Oh who am I kidding, any picture I take of him is adorable :).  That would be my proud momma comment.

Skull and Crossbones Hat

Size 3-6 months

Use size 11 16″ circular and DPs

Gauge: 6 stitches = 2″ in stockinette

Cast on 48 stitches and join in round.  K2, p2 for 1″.

Knit in round for 3″.  If you haven’t already switch to DPs (12 stitches on each needle).

Decreases

Round 1: K4, K2tog, repeat through end of round.

Round 2: Knit

Round 3: Knit

Round 4: K3, K2tog, repeat

Round 5: Knit

Round 6: Knit

Round 7: K2, K2tog, repeat

Round 8: Knit

Round 9: K1, K2tog, repeat

Round 10: K2tog, repeat

Round 11: K2tog, repeat (4 sts rem.)

Break off yarn and thread through remaining stitches.

Finishing: I made a nice big pom-pom to put on top but really this is such a basic pattern that you can embellish in so many different ways.  I also loved the idea of making this a little more “punk” so I cut out an oversized skull and crossbones from a piece of fleece and sewed it on with some red thread.

Close up

One response to “Skull and Crossbones

Leave a Reply

