Recycled Curtains

I love thrift stores.  I’m sure there will be a few more posts in the future about thrifting but today I thought I would share what I did with some old sheets I found at Goodwill.  I’ve always looked at bedding and thought how much fabric there is for such a cheap price.  You could never go to Hancock or JoAnn and get as much fabric as an old sheet has for five bucks.  The only time you MAY be able to is a Black Friday Sale and whoa baby you better bring your brass knuckles because those ladies are fierce!  (I may be exaggerating, I’ve worked a Black Friday sale at JoAnn and it was actually a ton of fun).

But I digress.  When we moved into our new house we didn’t have any window coverings in our bedroom so it was either buy curtains or make them.  I’m not much of a sewer, I’d rather knit any day, but if I must then it better be a good deal.  So I took a trip to the Goodwill and found a nice twin size sheet for five dollars and an awesome duvet cover from Ikea for six dollars.  Plenty of fabric for some window coverings!  I haven’t made anything with the Ikea fabric yet, it’s going to make curtains for our guest room and office, but here is what I did with our bedroom windows.  I didn’t take any close-up pictures because, like I said before, I’m not much of a sewer and I rushed to get them done during Dieter’s naptimes.

Thrifty CurtainsI had some leftover tan fabric from some other project so I added that to the curtains.

Close-up

 

A little bit of a close-up and…

 

 

 

 

 

 

oh! How did that get in here?

3 responses to “Recycled Curtains

Leave a Reply

