Mittens, Hats, Scarves…oh my!

Every year the cold weather catches me by surprise and it really shouldn’t  because it sticks around for six months out of the year.  After I get over the initial shock, however, I gleefully start pulling out the ridiculous amounts of scarves and mittens I own (no hats for this head unless it’s really cold).

I don’t believe there is anything more rewarding than knitting a scarf.  They are the first project many knitters tackle and yet they never seems to lose their appeal.  I’ve been knitting for about five years and I still love knitting scarves, in fact, I’m working on one right now.  But of course scarves are only part of the winter accessory equation.  Hats are usually the next thing a knitter learns how to make and if you dare to be a little adventurous mittens follow.  Here are my favorite mittens, scarf and hat that I’ve made.

Mittens Mitten close-up

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My mom made the mittens and I embellished them with some needle felting.  I love them!

 

First Scarf

 

 

 

 

 

This is the very first thing I ever knit.  It’s nothing special but I’m rather attached to it and out of all the scarves I have my favorite.

 

 

 

 

Dieter's Hat

 

 

 

 

My first attempt at fair isle knitting was this hat for Dieter.  I think it’s awesome even if it’s not perfect.

 

 

2 responses to “Mittens, Hats, Scarves…oh my!

Leave a Reply

