Cookie Monster Would Be Jealous

I love desserts.  Let me rephrase that I indulge in, salivate over, and dream about desserts.  So when I find a tasty dessert recipe I have to share.  Chocolate chip cookies are a staple in most kitchens and whether you’ve used refrigerated dough or made them from scratch I’m sure most of you have baked up a batch.  This recipe makes the best chocolate chip cookies I have ever had.  No kidding.  And this is coming from a dessert/sweets aficionado.

Big Chocolate Chip Cookies courtesy of the Moosewood Restaurant New Classics

3/4 cup butter, room temperature

1 1/2 cups dark brown sugar, packed

2 eggs

1 1/2 cups unbleached white flour

3/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

2 tablespoons water

2 cups chocolate chips

1 cup chopped walnuts and/or raisins (optional, I never add these…it messes with the integrity of the chocolate chips)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Lightly butter a baking sheet.

In a large bowl, cream the butter and sugar together until smooth.  Beat in the eggs until well blended.  In a separate bowl, sift together the white flour, whole wheat flour, baking soda, and salt.  Stir the dry ingredients into the butter mixture, mixing well.  Add the vanilla and water.  Stir in the chocolate chips and, if you wish, the nuts and/or raisins.

For 3-inch cookies, drop the batter by scant 1/4 cups onto the baking sheet, leaving 2 inches of space between the cookies.  Bake for about 10 minutes, or until the edges and bottoms are light brown and the tops golden.  Check after 8 minutes to avoid overbaking.  Note: I don’t know if my scant 1/4 cups are bigger but I bake my cookies for about 12 minutes allowing for the perfect amount of chewiness in the center of each cookie.  If  I bake them any shorter they end up being too doughy.

Chocolate Chip CookieI wanted to take a picture of the full batch of cookies but this was the only one remaining.

6 responses to “Cookie Monster Would Be Jealous

Leave a Reply

